ISTH Council Chair Ingrid Pabinger, M.D., announced the ten recipients of the Biennial Awards for Contributions to Hemostasis (BACH) during the Opening Ceremony of the ISTH 2017 Congress.

Five individuals were announced as recipients of the Distinguished Career Award, recognizing career contributions and service to the Society which have significantly advanced the scientific community’s understanding of diseases and disorders that affect hemostasis. Those recipients are as follows:

  • Peter Carmeliet, M.D., Ph.D. (Leuven, Belgium)
  • James Huntington, Ph.D. (Cambridge, UK)
  • Yasuo Ikeda, M.D., Ph.D. (Tokyo, Japan)
  • Bernhard Lämmle, M.D. (Bolligen, Switzerland)
  • Paula Tracy, Ph.D. (Burlington, USA)

Five more individuals were announced as recipients of the Investigator Recognition Award, recognizing accomplishments which are internationally regarded as exemplary models of research and mentoring excellence. Those recipients are as follows:

  • Rodney Camire, Ph.D. (Philadelphia, USA)
  • Douglas Cines, M.D. (Wynnewood, USA)
  • Mark Crowther, M.D., F.R.C.P. (Hamilton, Canada)
  • Cécile Denis, Ph.D. (Le Kremlin-Bicêtre, France)
  • Mortimer Poncz, M.D. (Philadelphia, USA)

These awards will be presented at the private President’s Dinner on Tuesday, July 11.

Share this story, choose your platform!