At the ISTH 2017 Congress Opening Ceremony, the ISTH announced Sam Schulman, M.D., as the Harold R. Roberts Medal recipient, recognizing contributions to the Scientific and Standardization Committee (SSC). The award honors meritorious service that goes beyond what is expected and that takes place over a significant period of time.

Schulman is an Associate Professor in Medicine at Karolinska Institute and at McMaster University. He is Director of the Thrombosis Service at HHS-General Hospital in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada and Director of the Clinical Thromboembolism Program of McMaster University.

He has worked within the field of coagulation disorders continuously since 1984 and was Director of the Hemophilia Treatment Center in Stockholm, Sweden from 1996 to 2004. His major research activities have been clinical studies in venous thromboembolism, including several randomized trials, and in hemophilia and its complications. He is currently involved in trials with new antithrombotic agents, such as the oral thrombin inhibitors.

As the President of the ISTH 2015 Congress, Schulman currently serves as an ex-officio member of the ISTH Council. He was also chairman of the ISTH SSC Subcommittee on Control of Anticoagulation from 2005-2008. Previously, he was awarded an ISTH BACH Investigator Recognition Award in 2001 and the ISTH BACH Distinguished Career Award in 2009.

Schulman will be presented his award on Tuesday, July 11 as part of the private President’s Dinner.

About the Roberts Medal
The medal is named after Harold R. Roberts, an ISTH charter member who served as Secretary General of the SSC from 1978 to 1988. He was a leader, mentor, counselor and scientific diplomat recognized internationally for his fairness, wisdom and devotion to the SSC and the Society.

Past awardees include:

2015 Anna Falanga
2013 Gerhard J. Johnson
2011 Gilbert C. White
2009 David Aronson
2007 Margareta Blombäck
2006 Jane G. Lenahan

Share this story, choose your platform!