The ISTH 2017 Congress attendees were welcomed Sunday evening with an exciting and inspirational Opening Ceremony and Reception, featuring live musicians, a water artist, acrobatic dancers, and more.

ISTH 2017 Congress President Johannes Oldenburg, M.D., Ph.D., officially opened the Congress with a welcome speech followed by a welcome symphony and video presentation. With more than 9,000 registered attendees, the ISTH 2017 Congress was officially hailed as the largest meeting in the history of the ISTH.

Later in the program, ISTH Council Chair Ingrid Pabinger, M.D., delivered a presentation highlighting the new initiatives and advancements of the ISTH. She also announced the recipients of the following prestigious ISTH awards:

  • Robert P. Grant Medal Recipient: Jack Hirsh, M.D.
  • Harold R. Roberts Medal: Sam Schulman, M.D.
  • Biennial Awards for Contributions to Hemostasis (BACH)
    • Distinguished Career Awards
      • Peter Carmeliet, M.D., Ph.D. (Leuven, Belgium)
      • James Huntington, Ph.D. (Cambridge, UK)
      • Yasuo Ikeda, M.D., Ph.D. (Tokyo, Japan)
      • Bernhard Lämmle, M.D. (Bolligen, Switzerland)
      • Paula Tracy, Ph.D. (Burlington, USA)
    • Investigator Awards
      • Rodney Camire, Ph.D. (Philadelphia, USA)
      • Douglas Cines, M.D. (Wynnewood, USA)
      • Mark Crowther, M.D., F.R.C.P. (Hamilton, Canada)
      • Cécile Denis, Ph.D. (Le Kremlin-Bicêtre, France)
      • Mortimer Poncz, M.D. (Philadelphia, USA)

Hirsh accepted the Grant Medal via video. The other awards are to be presented at the private President’s Dinner on Tuesday, July 11.

Following the ceremony, attendees finished the night in the exhibition halls, where there was a reception.

Share this story, choose your platform!